Stormwater Management Program

Bioswale Urbana's Stormwater Management Program meets the requirements of the City's permit with the Illinois EPA (IEPA).  The permit requires the City to comply with Phase II of the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Stormwater Program for Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4) and allows the City to discharge stormwater into its receiving streams.

As a condition of the MS4 permit, the City must adopt and implement six minimum control measures to improve the water quality of its stormwater discharges.  The six minimum control measures are:

  • 1. Public Education and Outreach
  • 2. Public Participation and Involvement (Boneyard Creek Community Day)
  • 3. Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  • 4. Construction Site Runoff Control
  • 5. Post-construction Runoff Control
  • 6. Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping


The City collaborates with neighboring communities that also have MS4 permits to share common resources and develop a regional consistency in fulfilling permit requirements. The MS4 Technical Committee includes representation from the City of Champaign, the City of Urbana, the Village of Savoy, the University of Illinois and Champaign County. Committee activities include hosting stormwater conferences and sponsoring clean up events.  The committee has also created an informational website, to help with public education, outreach and involvement.


Click on location marker to view address.
Contact Reference: 
Created on: Wednesday, February 10, 2010 - 17:43
- Author - Visitor
- Contributors: BradBJustinSBethR