Fire Houses Groundbreaking Ceremony

Urbana Fire Station Groundbreaking Ceremony

The City of Urbana held a groundbreaking ceremony on June 12, 2024, to celebrate the construction of our new fire stations designed with fire fighter health and wellness at the forefront. The Urbana Fire Department will have two new state-of-the-art stations by this time next year. City officials and community members gathered for the groundbreaking ceremony.

Mayor Diane Wolfe Marlin, and Urbana City Council members and staff were joined by State Senator Paul Faraci, Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity, members of neighboring Mount Olive Missionary Baptist Church, current and retired Urbana firefighters, as well as partners FGM Architects - FGMA, P.J. Hoerr, and Local Union representatives.

These stations will be built with 100% Union Labor with 30% local contractor and 23% DBE-minority-owned business participation. The entire plan will cost about $15.6 million dollars. Fire station two will be on East Mumford drive and South Philo road. Station three will be on Bradley and Goodwin Avenues.

Pictured above, from the left, are: Mayor Diane Wolfe Marlin, Deputy Fire Chief Kyle Hensch - retired, Fire Chief Demond Dade, and Ward Three City Council Member, Shirese Hursey.

Last modified:Tuesday, July 2, 2024 - 10:27
- Author: BridgetB