STATE OF ILLINOIS

CITY OF URBANA

Laurel Lunt Prussing, Mayor

Phyllis D. Clark, City Clerk



*** SPECIAL MEETING *** URBANA CITY COUNCIL MEETING Monday, May 26, 2015

The City Council of the City of Urbana, Illinois, met in special session Monday, May 26, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the Urbana City Building.

ELECTED OFFICIALS PHYSICALLY PRESENT

Charles Smyth, Alderman Ward 1 Eric Jakobsson, Alderman Ward 2 Aaron Ammons, Alderman Ward 3 Bill Brown, Alderman Ward 4 Dennis Roberts, Alderman Ward 5 Michael P. Madigan, Alderman Ward 6 Diane Marlin, Alderwoman Ward 7 Laurel Lunt Prussing, Mayor Phyllis D. Clark, City Clerk

ELECTED OFFICIALS PRESENT VIA TELECONFERENCE None

ELECTED OFFICIALS ABSENT

STAFF PRESENT

Brad Bennett; Celeste Choate; William Gray; Elizabeth Hannan; Kelly Mierkowski; Mike Monson; Sylvia Morgan; Brian Nightlinger; Craig Shonkwiler; James Simon; Pauline Tannos; Elizabeth Tyler

OTHERS PRESENT

Dr. Amira Davis; Members of the Media

I. Call To Order and Roll Call

There being a quorum, Mayor Prussing called the special meeting of the Urbana City Council to order at 7:00 p.m.

II. Petitions and Communications

Mayoral Proclamation: Mayor Prussing read an expression of the effects and meaning of gratitude written by Abdul-Hakeem Yusuf Salaam, followed by Mayor Prussing proclaiming Thursday, May 28, 2015 as a "Day of Gratitude" in the City of Urbana, and encourages other communities to celebrate a Day of Gratitude on the 4th Thursday of May in the future. Urbana City Counsel (Special Meeting) Minutes: May 26, 2015 Page Two

III. New Business

1. Resolution No.2015-05-027R: A Resolution Authorizing the City to Participate in the Illinois Housing Development Authority Blight Reduction Program and to Provide a Related Loan to Habitat for Humanity of Champaign County

Mayor Prussing introduced Resolution No. 2015-05-027R, followed Kelly Mierkowski, Manager of the Community Development Grants Management Division presenting a brief overview of the purpose of the Blight Reduction Program, the Agreement with the Illinois Housing Development Authority and the proposed Resolution, and that Staff recommends approval of the Resolution.

Discussion ensued with Council following Ms. Mierkowski's presentation. Ms. Mierkowski, Community Development Director Elizabeth Tyler and Executive Director of the Champaign County Habitat for Humanity Sheila Dodd addressed Council's questions and concerns.

Alderman Smyth made a motion to approve Resolution No. 2015-05-027R. Alderman Roberts seconded. Discussion with Council continued following the motion. Ms. Tyler and Ms. Dodd addressed Council's questions and concerns. Following discussion, the motion to approve Resolution No. 2015-05-027R was approved by roll call. Votes were as follows:

Aaron Ammons - Aye	Diane Marlin - Aye
Bill Brown - Aye	Dennis Roberts - Aye
Eric Jakobsson - Aye	Charles Smyth - Aye
Michael Madigan - Aye	Mayor Prussing - Aye

Disposition: Resolution No. 2015-05-027R was approved by roll call vote (8 - ayes; 0 - Nays).

IV. Adjournment: There being no further business to come before this Special Council Meeting, Mayor Prussing declared the meeting adjourned at 7:26 p.m.

Phyllis D. Clark Phyllis D. Clark, City Clerk

This meeting was taped.

This meeting was broadcast on cable television.

Minutes Approved: <u>June 1, 2015</u>